Corporate CPA that wants to prepare tax returns

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for advice here as I realize most of you own your own business, and could probably provide some good insight. I am a CPA working in corporate accounting. I have about 8 years of experience, and I got my CPA license about 4 years ago. I have never prepared a tax return besides my own, and my spouse's before we were married.

I really feel as though I missed the boat when it comes to public accounting because I went straight to corporate after college. It seems as though: A) Big firms only hire recent college graduates, and B) Small firms hire CPA's from bigger firms that want a better work life balance. I realize this isn't true in every case, but I feel strongly that this is how it's normally done.

I like what I do now, but I very much regret that I didn't try going into tax early on because I have a strong interest in it, and every year I think "what if".

I don't have the experience to just open up my own firm and start preparing returns. Sure, I could do that, but I think it's foolish. I need a minimum of a few years under a seasoned preparer to get practical experience. In my opinion, the theory of the CPA exam is a lot different than the reality of actually preparing returns.

I've tried to think about what I could do to improve my marketability to smaller firms. My ideas:

1. Pass the EA exams to prove I have recent in-depth tax knowledge. (Not sure this is worth it, but I think the EA exams are probably more comprehensive than the CPA Reg exam, plus it would be recent).

2. Try to work for one of the big box stores part-time for a season or two. (I know these are not great places, but many people seem to have started this way).

If you own your own firm, would you ever hire someone like me? Do you think these are good ideas to eventually get hired somewhere?

Thanks,

Matt