tax hire

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
zl28  
Anyone ever have success hiring someone for tax who doesn't use your software?

Have opportunity to hire someone with 15 years of experience to come in per diem
but she hasn't used my software in a decade.

CathysTaxes  
It takes me less than an hour to learn new software. Maybe she does too
Cathy
CathysTaxes

I'd say it takes a lot longer than an hour to learn tax software. I'm still learning my software and I'm in my third year -- there's always a new box or feature or a new strange client situation that I deal with! If I went back to Prosystems (which I last used back in '05) I could probably fumble through an easy return pretty quickly, but it would take a while before I would say that I had relearned the software again.

That said, if you hire anyone there will be a learning curve. Sure, it will take this person longer to prepare the return than it would take you to, but the learning curve should be shorter given the person's experience. The experience with your software from 10 years ago should help a little.

ATSMAN  
There is only one sure way to find out. Give her access to training videos or webinars of your software and then do a few tax return hands on and see what the learning curve is. Most tax professionals who know the tax law and use of one software are able to adapt to a new software quickly unless there is a learning challenge.

I knew a man who had over 30 years experience preparing taxes and used Lacerte and fumbled completely trying to switch to Drake!

zl28  
good answers...ty....ironically, my girlfriend was entering some w2's and 1099's for interest and she's a computer programmer
and she learned pretty quickly for someone who doesn't do tax.

when i worked at another firm with profx; i had a hard time learning the software

i learned from that to have 2 screens for the employee; one to see how did last year and one to see how did this year.