Drake

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hello

I’m a relatively new CPA and new to the forum. I’m hoping to start offering tax and bookkeeping services. My previous tax software experience was with Lacerte, and I really liked it, but it’s a little bit out of my price range, especially since I’m not going to be taking on anything too complex at first. I have read that Drake is pretty popular with new and/or small tax preparers. Does anyone have experience with it? What do you think? Pros and Cons? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Good morning -

I have been using Drake for almost 6 years and we love it. We use it at the firm I work for and I use it for my side gig. Here is a brief list of pros and cons from my limited experience:

1. Affordable and prices will remain constant each year.
2. Customer Service that is unmatched.
3. Easy to learn. When we get seasonal preparers, they are able to learn it fast.
4. Each year they add on great tools I.e. import, export etc.

Cons

1. State returns have to reviewed carefully as some items do not flow from federal.
2. Mutil State returns have to reviewed diligently.

As side from the state issues, its a great product. I am a big advocate for Drake.

chris  
I use it. We had to switch from TaxWorks literally within 48 hours, to Drake back when TaxWorks imploded. Scary proposition but the fact that it was glitch-free and productive with hardly any learning time speaks a lot. Now that I'm out on my own I continue to use it and have been very happy with it. You do have to know enough not to 'trust' it for certain things however - like education credit options, you are the optimizer not the software. There are probably other "optimize" things missing; in general it relies on you to know the best answer for your client, given choices...it does not try to figure that out for you.