Starting Out

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hello All,

I've been a long-time lurker and reader, but decided to create a username to be more active and also to ask specific advice on this situation.

I've made the decision recently to go out on my own as a sole practitioner with aspirations to eventually hire staff and grow a practice. I'm a tax CPA with 5 years experience for background.

My question, which relates to timing, is this:

I will have roughly 2 years living expenses saved up for the start-up phase by May/June. Would it be crazy/unwise for me to quit my full time position then, take 2 weeks to one month off, then hit it hard with business development? I already have a few clients on the side but I know this is going to be a slow time of the year for tax....I imagine I'd be reeling in mostly bookkeeping work during this time of year.

Or....should I grind it out and leave in November? This would give me an additional 3-4 months living expenses saved up (plus I'd have 5-6 months less of "burn" for the year because I'd be employed). I would take roughly a month off and then hit it hard with marketing, both passive and active. This seems a smarter move to me as I'll be going solo right as busy season is ramping up. The main con is that my current position is soul sucking, and the idea of working any more time than necessary depresses me.

Knowing what you know, what would you do in my position? I plan to offer tax compliance, tax consulting, and bookkeeping/general accounting services.

Thanks for your time!

ATSMAN  
Welcome to this board. I did not give up my day job when I first entered this business. Starting out from nothing can be a daunting challenge especially if you need a reliable paycheck to feed the family!

You could perhaps cut back your hours if you can in your day job ( I stopped doing any overtime and needed that to keep my health insurance).