Wish to Purchase Small Tax Practice

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
I am a CPA in Nassau County, Long Island, NY and would like to purchase a small to medium, up to $100,000, tax practice in the local area.

I have been in practice for over 30 years, and share a working relationship with another practitioner. Our combined practices consist of 130 personal tax returns and 20 business returns, writeups, compilations & reviews, bookkeeping, payroll tax services, etc.

Anyone interested in selling, merging, etc, this type of practice should feel free to contact me directly at mdubincpa@aol.com.

Thanks

I am still looking too Mike, but more for a $500,000 practice. I was referred to one that would be good for you but the guy wanted 100 of selling price up front with no guarantee of retention. I laughed at the broker, i give $100,000 and the next day -0- clients come to me?

Its touch market out there.

ATSMAN  
Must be an inexperienced broker because they all know that the buyer is going to need some retention protection. Usually the seller's broker tries to get 80% upfront and then have the 20% on a schedule for a year or two. I doubt this seller is going to find anyone taking that kind of a risk on a $100K business!

michaelmars wrote:I am still looking too Mike, but more for a $500,000 practice. I was referred to one that would be good for you but the guy wanted 100 of selling price up front with no guarantee of retention. I laughed at the broker, i give $100,000 and the next day -0- clients come to me?

Its touch market out there.

ATSMAN wrote:Must be an inexperienced broker because they all know that the buyer is going to need some retention protection. Usually the seller's broker tries to get 80% upfront and then have the 20% on a schedule for a year or two. I doubt this seller is going to find anyone taking that kind of a risk on a $100K business!