Fear of starting a practice.

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Brief background, I am the sole provider, married with 2 kids (ages 8 and 6) I have a CPA with 7 years accounting experience. My experience includes 2.5 years of small Business and Personal Tax (5 years ago) and 5 years of industry (Inventory, Real Estate). For that last 5 years I have done taxes for friends and family only. I recently found out that my current industry job will be eliminated in August due to our largest client going elsewhere. Deep down I have always wanted to open my own firm working with Small Businesses and delivering relevant business analytics, but I am scared. I am scared because I must provide not only an income but health insurance for my family. I have equivalent to a years’ worth of expenses (including Health Insurance) saved up.
I guess my questions are?
Am I crazy to think with the experience I have that it is enough to do this?
If you had fears, how did you face them when you started?

Again, thanks in advance.

MWEA  
I would be nervous as well even with a year of expenses lined up. It will be more about marketing and prospecting for new clients than technical knowledge being the hurdle at the beginning. It takes time for those efforts to work.

CathysTaxes  
Being the sole provider, I can understand your nervousness. When my husband started this small business, I had a well paying job with benefits, so it was a lot easier on him. For awhile, he supplemented his income with a part-time job.
Cathy
CathysTaxes

ATSMAN  
I was sort of in your position many years back with a young family to feed so after lot's of advice from family and friends I started small out of the house working on weekends and nights to start the business and slowly grow while holding a full time job to pay the bills. When i was comfortable that I could sustain, I took early retirement.