Firm Ownership and Personality

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
I'm a CPA with 5 years in tax and I would like to explore the idea of one day owning my own firm.

Something holding me back and preventing me from pursuing this goal more aggressively is my personality: I am a naturally shy person, and I have high-functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder (a.k.a. Asperger's Syndrome). This makes any deviation from "social scripts" an enormous challenge for me. I can be quite awkward, and it is a challenge to initiate conversations with new people spontaneously in a way that makes me question whether I have the networking and business development capacity to get new client.

On the other hand, my current employer seems reasonably well-pleased with me, and as it is a regional firm with a wide variety of returns, I feel that I bring a certain amount of skill and analytical ability to the table. I would love to be the owner of my work product in a way that will never be possible as a W-2 employee.

My question: from your collective experience, is there a necessary personality profile for firm ownership? Do you know anyone personally who was in my shoes? Am I dreaming here?

Thanks,
Diego

ATSMAN  
One's personality does play a big factor in the success of the business especially in our profession where we are the face of the business and the chief salesperson to bring in business. Having said that until you try you will never know. Perhaps the pressure of making a business succeed will bring about some changes to your personality and make you more outgoing.

I know people who have other medical condition or handicap and they are running businesses with some adjustment to overcome the challenges. A friend of mine about my age has Parkinson's disease and runs a successful business with some help from his family and knows what his limitations are.

Good luck if you decide to give it a try.

JR1