Non payment - personal guarantee

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
pkaria  
I have a client for whom we did a bunch of work on his business books (last three years worth). He has not paid us but now wants us to do his personal taxes. He is willing to pay for his personal taxes upfront but not his business bookkeeping. He promises to pay when he has money and is offering to offer personal guarantee. I have no experience in this arena. Are his words or his offer for personal guarantee of any use? Is there any way to safeguard my interests or should I just cut my losses and move on? We are talking about $9k of outstanding amount.... *I feel foolish*

-Pete

Frankly  
Without sounding as though to impugn his character, I'd suggest to him that a payment on the old balance would be a good show of faith. $1,000 plus the personal tax returns now would work for me. Take too easy a stance now and the old balance may never be paid. Too hard a line and you run a risk of losing him altogether and with that any hope of collecting the old balance.

pkaria  
Thanks. I am just hoping that I am not digging myself in to a bigger hole :(

What kind of "business" is he running here? If it's not some kind of entity, like and LLC or a corporation, hasn't he already given his personal guarantee?

Going forward, I would not begin a new year until the past year's work has been paid for. I have one client that is always late paying. They are always on extension and file right at October 15. Every year I get paid in October for the previous year when I tell them that I can't prepare their return until the previous year is paid for.