Where to get experience?

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hi Guys,

I'm in a unique experience and hopefully you can shed some ideas for me. I work as a non profit auditor for the past 10 years so I'm very well versed in the non profit sector. From getting exemption, staying exemption, UBIT, PF, and employment tax laws. I passed the CPA recently and I want to basically start my own practice.

1) do you think I can make a living just targeting and getting exempt orgs? I understand the bread and butter are usually the 1040, 1120, and 1065. The problem with this is that I basically have no income tax preparation experiences. I wouldn't know how to help people in these sectors.

2) With point 1 in mind, I plan to maybe work for another CPA firm for maybe 2-3 years to get the income tax experience? What do you think is a good size firm for me to join? 5 people? 10 people? 50++?

I guess the practice I had in mind will probably be only tax and bookkeeping. I don't have any compilation, review, or financial audit experiences so I can't help people there.

Any comments would be hepful. Thank you.

Coddington  
With significant experience and your CPA, you could probably join a Big 4's exempt group and look at rotating through their other tax practice areas.
-Brian

Director of Tax Accounting Methods & Credits
SourceAdvisors.com

Opinions my own.

FLAcct  
I think there's very few tax preparers who have expertise in the non-profit arena. If you live in a large enough city area in which you can draw new clients, I would think you could concentrate and succeed in this field of work.

FLAcct wrote:I think there's very few tax preparers who have expertise in the non-profit arena. If you live in a large enough city area in which you can draw new clients, I would think you could concentrate and succeed in this field of work.