guidelines when receiving quickbooks file from bookkeeper?

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
i am new to this field. i see that i am getting quickbooks files from users that are incorrect. whether booking a loan payment incorrectly or paying something personal which should be a distribution . does anyone have any process or guidelines on what to look for when receiving a quickbooks file from a bookkeeper. Thank you

Firstly, make sure you can tie down each item on the balance sheet - get the December bank statements and credit card statements straddling the year-end. Get payroll reports and make sure the liabilities are correctly stated. Reconcile the fixed asset accounts to your depreciation schedule.

Secondly, scrutinize P&L accounts for non-deductible or partly deductible items. Think where a client may put gifts or meals, other than where they should be. I have never found a shortcut for this task. Others may be more imaginative.

makbo  
newbie wrote:does anyone have any process or guidelines on what to look for when receiving a quickbooks file from a bookkeeper.

In addition to the good comments from Sumwunlost, when it comes to process, you should have an agreement about whether/how you are going to make changes, or add journal entries, to the client's company file. Since you say "receive a file", I assume you are talking about the desktop product, not QBO. If you have QB Accountant's version, you can do things like Accountants Copy allowing concurrent file access, with a dividing date for transactions you and your client can continue to access. Or you can send a file of journal entries for upload.

What type of entity? While it's always nice to have an accurate balance sheet, a Schedule C filer does not actually need to include one with the tax return. But for any other type of entity, I want to be sure as the tax preparer that I have a copy of the books that matches what's on the tax return.