Client Origination Sources

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
If you had to make a breakdown of your client origination sources (e.g., referrals, family/friends, paid leads, website, off-the-street, &c.), what would you say yours are? Thanks!

ATSMAN  
quietAccountant1 wrote:If you had to make a breakdown of your client origination sources (e.g., referrals, family/friends, paid leads, website, off-the-street, &c.), what would you say yours are? Thanks!

At this stage of my business 99% are referrals from current and past clients. The rest are walk-in, google search, Yelp etc.

I really want referrals therefore I stopped advertising.

When I first started it was reverse. I paid for newspaper ads, coupons etc. I also worked as a "junior" to another accountant sharing some of the revenue and paid a small salary.

HowardS  
100% referrals.
Retired, no salvage value.

smtcpa  
I'd estimate about 50% find me through the internet and 50% referrals.

Preppie  
This year's client list is probably 50% internet (website + Google maps) and 50% referrals. Just guessing as I stopped tracking.

sjrcpa  
99% referrals

adamant  
99% referrals as well

MWEA  
I'm still on the front end, building from scratch. Here were my primary lead sources getting off the ground:

1.) BNI Networking Group: Many people don't like the format, but I've been adding $15,000 to $20,000 a year in new revenue from it.

2.) Centers of Influence Marketing: I have a few terrific referral sources that send me a fair amount of business. In particular, a bookkeeper, a number of financial advisors, and a mortgage broker.

3.) Dave Ramsey ELP program: I put this down because it led to more returns, but I no longer use it. The profile was not profitable nor the client profile needed to scale a business. These were consistently the least profitable returns I completed.

4.) Client referrals. This has been building as I get a few years into it.