Software Question / Startup Home Office

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Brando  
Hi,
I'm studying for the enrolled agent exam. I've been contemplating starting a part-time home based tax preparation business. My goal has been to keep overhead extremely low, and pass that savings onto customers. In looking into tax software it seems very expensive for someone like me, a very low volume sole propieter. I am looking for any suggestions on software, or inexpensive processes in which to file. In doing some research I found the fillable forms that are available through the IRS website. As a paid preparer, can I use these? I'm sure in the past all forms where done by hand anyway. I'm sure most of my clients returns would be simpler than mine to fill out, and I'm sure I would learn a lot manually preparing forms. From what I've seen, taxes must be e-filed. I'm trying to understand the e-file registration with the IRS. If I register for that, does it provide a portal for me to file my clients taxes? I'm finding it difficult to find answers to these basic questions. Any insights, thoughts or suggetions are appreciated.

Thank you,
Brandon

Frankly  
I'd suggest you join the Facebook group "Tax 101". Lots of help there for the new practitioner.

chris  
I was in the same boat last year. Look at Drake. I did pay per return my first year, I think it was around $400 for the software and $19 per return. I have enough clients now that this year I bought the unlimited version which was only $1100 for the early bird pricing. Some folks here don't like Drake because it is weak on the more complex entities, but for someone starting out I found it to be fine.

Their customer support is excellent and they will step you through all the setup along the lines of the questions you were asking. It's easy but you need to start now to get an EFIN in time for tax season.
Site admin and software developer for TaxProTalk.com and https://TheSiteFactory.com

makbo