Workload Corona virus

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Thought I'd start a new thread rather than add to existing thread. My practice is heavy 1040's and closely held S-Corps but we only do about 250 1040's and 80 business's. The last 75 or so 1040's, all owe money , are partners in big law firms and other groups, earn big bucks, are in complex partnerships and usually are waiting on K1's. That said, 30 years as a CPA I find myself with very little in house work. My city is shutdown, all the big law firms will delay the K1's, many CPA firms producing the K1's are in shutdown.

Just a weird feeling but we'll get through this.

What is everyone else feeling or experiencing?

Unless something has changed and I have missed it, NCDOR will still charge interest on tax paid after April 15th. That is my main focus right now, along with getting returns out for those who are not working at the moment.

I have a few passive-aggressive clients who would like to be at "the top of the pile" after I've dealt with NC payments. I will take a view as to whether they should remain clients once the dust has settled.

Currently have very little exposure, pretty diversified and my bread and butter clients are financially strong. Tax returns are maybe 25% of my overall business at this point, and most of the 1040s are well off individuals or retired with nice income streams. I have one client that exposes me to risk at this point, but they are not vital to my cash flow. I am expecting the same delays with a handful of clients that I experience every single year.

If SC orders shelter-at-home, I do have one client with an accounting contract that may find themselves with an inability to pay me. That would be client #2 that exposes me, but it still is not much.

If anything, this could help me since my firm is already set up to be 100% virtual, whereas others have tremendous overhead and require the face-to-face interactions to get any work done or be efficient.