Do You offer money for referrals?

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
sbishop  
I saw that Liberty Tax is offering a $50 refer a friend program. Any one has success with this type of promotion?

As This is my first year, I was thinking of offering my friends $25 for anyone they refer me.

Joanmcq  
In CA I believe CPAs can't offer cash for referrals. So, no.

ATSMAN  
I would not recommend paying "cash" for referrals. A better option may be to offer a referral discount which I do.

But the $50 from JH does grab your attention!

Long time back I gave a client $10 as a referral fee. Word got around and some of my clients were calling me for money for their previous referrals particularly family members. Stopped that in a hurry.

But I suppose if you are an unenrolled tax preparer there is no law against paying for referrals! Pls. correct me if I am wrong. :?:

sbishop  
I was thing of printing up business cards and having the referrer put their name and phone number on the back for tracking. I was also thinking of making the business card a coupon for $25 off tax preparation services so the person would make sure to present the coupon.

I could also leave these cards at businesses around my area.

ATSMAN Since I am starting from scratch I would not be running into the same issue you had.

ATSMAN  
My tax prep software let's me print coupons!

If you are starting from scratch you could use the USPS to do directed marketing for you. I received a brochure from them last year but I misplaced it. But essentially you could target a given street or zipcode with a flyer that has the discount.

A small ad in my local newspaper cost $120 min. and I seem to recall the USPS price if I just did my zipcode was less!

Of course you risk people tossing it away as junk mail!

Coddington  
Doesn't NAEA prohibit its members from paying referral fees?
-Brian

Director of Tax Accounting Methods & Credits
SourceAdvisors.com

Opinions my own.

PDXCPA