Starting Own Practice

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hi everyone,

I've decided i want to open my own practice with about 5-6 monthly clients (s-corp, LLC) to start. I'm a CPA and have been doing bookkeeping/taxes for about 10 years and all i've ever worked with is TR products(Filecabinet, fixed assets, ultra tax, accounting cs). I would like your advice on the best alternative to all those products. I'm going to describe what I want to do so you have a better understanding of what i actually need the products to do:

-Be able to input checks, je, bank recs, etc for multiple clients (dont need payroll)
-Be able to export YE financials from accounting program to tax program
-Be able to input fixed assets and keep track of depreciation
-Store everything like filecabinet allows

I've used quickbooks but am very limited, I don't mind learning it as it seems close to CS, i just don't know if allows me to do all the things i need for multiple clients. Also, is there a special kind of quickbooks for bookkeepers to use?

I estimate i'll probably do around 20-30 business returns & 50 individual at the end of the year.

Appreciate any help you guys can give me!

For strictly in-house accounting, I like...Excel

Quickbooks pro for windows should do what you need for monthly bookkeeping and write up. You are able to have multiple company files, aka multiple clients.
The accountant version comes with windows, mac, and enterprise versions of the software. You probably don't need all of that.

UT does have a prp license that you can use for tax returns just getting started. That's what I used my first year. CS will also negotiate on the unlimited license and FC license. I was PRP for the first year plus tax season, but then negotiated a good deal on unlimited. I was also able to negotiate the FC price. The renewal on FC is much more affordable than the first license.