Am I a successor CPA in this scenario?

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
So a little over year ago, a local sole-prop was selling her practice. She and I got in touch and made a deal. She felt that if I had some exposures to her clients then it would be better to maximize retention rate. Long story short, we formed a LLP where she is the 51% owner and i am 49%. I am moving forward with acquiring the remaining 51%. On the draft agreement, she insisted that we need to send a letter to the clients and have clients sign and approve the transfer of files.

I am a general partner in the LLP, I have unlimited access to client files plus I signed over half of the returns done by the LLP. Why do I need to get client approval to transfer files to myself?

I understand if this was a straight up sale, we would be required to get client consent. But I don't believe I am a successor CPA in this case.

Thoughts?

ATSMAN  
This is just my non attorney opinion so please do not consider it legal advice.

If the tax prep firm is a LLP and you are 49% owner and you have signed over half of the returns you do not need permission to transfer any files. After you buy out the 51% owner I am assuming you will be the sole owner of the business.

I will be the sole owner after buyout. The LLP will dissolve and I will form a new professional corp and operate.

That's my thought as well. But she disagrees.

What about the dissolution transaction, you’re (a person) stepping into the shoes of the LLP wrt the assets.

if you keep the LLP you’re not a successor.