Reading materials for firm development

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Not a super urgent request...

This first tax season as a solo shop has been a grind.
I knew it would be, and I'm not afraid of work. I've been doing the 7 days a week tax season grind for 20 years now (officially my 20th tax season to be exact).
I'm at max capacity, even working 7 days a week since Jan 1st, and 70-80 hours a week as workflow allowed.
It would be nice to have an admin/staff person, of course.
It would also be nice to eventually hire a junior staff, to hopefully transition to part time eventually, and then have an exit strategy in place.

Just looking for resources (books or websites) that might guide my path on which direction I should take this thing.
I'm currently looking at +50 business extensions that were done, and 150ish personal extensions that will be done for the filing deadline, and I'm having trouble saying no to new callers. (not to get them done by the deadline, that ship sailed a few weeks ago, stated turnaround is 4 weeks during peak tax season, going to 6 weeks next year)

Also happy to hear other experience in this area.
More money is not necessarily the main goal, as I'm on target to cash in my chips and check out in another 8 years at age 50, potentially before depending if my transition strategy works out.
Last edited by ReckedCPAEA on 7-Apr-2022 4:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

It's really learning to manage expectations, which comes with experience. It is very different trying to do it under an employer vs. having full control under your own business. Don't deviate from standards, first and foremost. Once you do, you'll be going down a rabbit hole you cannot easily escape.