Becoming a CPA

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
I have a 2 year degree.

I've worked as a tax practitioner (EA) as an employee of my own firm (with a partner) for 10 years.

Perhaps each state is different, but if I went back to school for a higher degree and sit through the CPA exams, would I also have to actually work for another CPA?

Because I don't see how I can possibly do that unless I got rid of half of my clients.

sjrcpa  
Some states have a 1,000 or 2,000 hour work experience requirement before you can get the CPA license. That may have to be done under the supervision of a CPA.
Other than that I don't see why you would have to work for a CPA.

sjrcpa wrote: That may have to be done under the supervision of a CPA.

Does this mean I can potentially hire a CPA to supervise my own work and that I don't actually have to work for that CPA?

Thanks!

It all depends on your state, each state board has their own rules.
Typically a CPA needs to work within the same company and "supervise" your work, to then sign off on your hours.
Most states require a bachelors degree plus an additional 30 credit hours to meet the 150 hour requirement (you don't necessarily need a masters).

You can read more about your state's requirements here.
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/0 ... 10.14R.pdf

At this point in your career, there is going to be substantial opportunity cost to you obtaining the CPA certification, years of school, years of study for the exams, then the years of experience. You likely would not opt for the 1500 chargeable hours of audit work, as you are a tax guy, so it looks like 2 years experience would be required.

Not entirely sure if you can hire a CPA to work in your firm, who "supervises" you. Seems a bit paper thin to me unfortunately.
Some states do allow NASBA verification of experience, which is a chargeable service, but it depends on your state board whether that would be acceptable.