Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Remote Tax Work Opportunities.
Post a reply

14-Nov-2022 4:29pm

I have received a few emails from Intuit pitching jobs doing remote work as a virtual tax preparer. The work is with Turbo Tax Live. I have a little extra time, so I responded and have a phone interview tomorrow. I'm sure many of you have received these same emails.

Has anyone done this work or any other remote work with Intuit? If so, I'd be interested to know what your experiences was like.

Also, does anyone know of any other remote tax preparation positions that are out there? I am a CPA with 17 years of tax prep experience.

Thanks for any insights.

14-Nov-2022 4:43pm

They will offer you an hourly rate that will be absolutely insulting given your amount of experience. You'll make a lot more by offering your services as a third-party preparer for other CPA firms.

14-Nov-2022 5:04pm

Plenty of CPA firms have remote workers.

14-Nov-2022 8:56pm

I did the pilot program for TaxAct a few years ago. They paid very, very well and we got the software for our own practice thrown in.

When they started offering the service to the public, we were offered jobs at $35-38 per hour. Robert Half managed it for them and, to put it as kindly as possible, made a right sow’s ear of it. But if you can get in and past Robert Half, it’s not a bad gig. The only issue is that, in my view, those who used the service really should have engaged a tax professional. Our target was 26 minutes with a maximum of 28, so we could be ready for the next client. Numerous clients had to re-book because we had quite a bit of stuff to untangle.

TaxAct provided a computer and a backdrop that you were required to use. You will need a good internet connection, especially if you are going to be on video.