Revenue Share - Client Referals

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
I have a friend and colleague who is giving up his practice, for multiple reasons (including health). He's an EA, I'm a CPA.

He wants me to be one of two local preparers that he sends out to his list of clients in a letter explaining his situation. He would like a one time 30% referral fee of whatever I charge for their 2023 returns. Most of their returns are fairly easy and will help me afford my new admin staff person (currently a solo practitioner, no admin people).

I asked my attorney if he would review the fairly simple agreement that basically states I will pay him the 30% fee for any 2022 returns, that's it, by May 31st, 2023. My attorney said that lawyers aren't allowed to do this, so my question is, is there any ethics violations for CPA's to do this?

Thanks!

warnickcpa wrote:I have a friend and colleague who is giving up his practice, for multiple reasons (including health). He's an EA, I'm a CPA.

He wants me to be one of two local preparers that he sends out to his list of clients in a letter explaining his situation. He would like a one time 30% referral fee of whatever I charge for their 2023 returns. Most of their returns are fairly easy and will help me afford my new admin staff person (currently a solo practitioner, no admin people).

I asked my attorney if he would review the fairly simple agreement that basically states I will pay him the 30% fee for any 2022 returns, that's it, by May 31st, 2023. My attorney said that lawyers aren't allowed to do this, so my question is, is there any ethics violations for CPA's to do this?

Thanks!

I've done this many times.... perhaps there is a disclosure required but I never did. Small potatoes. You're paying him to review the return, questions, etc. I didn't even use a lawyer. If you can't trust the person, the paper aint worth a dime. Im sure a couple of "detail oriented" will disagree.