Documentation for form 8867

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hi guys,

First of all, I know I ask a lot of novice questions and I appreciate you all and your knowledge. I'm a very new CPA.

I can't tell you how many people say that I am the first CPA who has refused to file a tax return without a document for the 8867. Am I crazy?

It doesn't say, "Did you feel a document was necessary?" or "Did you get a document?" or "Did the taxpayer feel like providing a document?".. it literally says, "What documents did you rely on?"

Am I correct that unless I have personal family knowledge of dependency, then they absolutely must provide a document, right? And every client feels like I know them and they're a close personal friend... Ok.. but realistically, I don't have 500 close personal friends.
Know your worth, then add tax!

CathysTaxes  
No, you're not lazy. You need to do your due diligence and that's what I tell my clients. Even the son of hubby's childhood friends and his long-term girlfriend and their three kids. Each year I call them and do the same interview. Once they've provided me with h at least one document then I will continue to use it but my phone interview verifies everything.
Cathy
CathysTaxes

We can rely on a client's representations unless we have knowledge to the contrary or the representations are contradictory. What documentation are you requesting?

I've incorporated CTC due diligence questions into my 1040 organizer to streamline the CTC due diligence process. List those documents provided by the taxpayer, if any, that you relied on: "Signed client organizer"