First Time Client That Left Wanting To Come Back

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Title says it all. I've been working for myself full time since August 2021. I have a fairly high client retention rate. I've fired just as many clients as don't come back, especially just for 1040 prep.

Anyways, I have my first clients that left to go to another CPA firm for their 2022 tax prep that already want to come back. I prepared 2020 and 2021, 1065 return and personal. The wife sends me an explanation that the CPA that they left be for isn't providing them as solid of services as I was.

Anyways, I believe they left because in 2021 they owed a good chunk of money because the husband's business grew a decent amount and they've never fixed their W-4s. I had reached out at least one time during 2021 to see if they wanted to do some tax planning and received no response.

How do you proceed with this type of client? Do you charge them more? Do you tell them too bad so sad?

KoiCPA  
It largely depends on how you feel about the client. If you think they can be a good client for you, then welcome them back into the fold and don't make a big deal about it. If you want to, you can outright tell you're not taking them back. Or if it's just a question of money, it's been a couple years of high inflation. Charge them whatever makes it worthwhile, perhaps including a few to re-enter data from the prior year returns so that your software has the right carryover information.

I tend to look less favorably on returning ex-clients than I do the average walk-in prospect. Fool one once kind of thing.

In these situations if I'm amenable to potentially taking them back, which if I'm being honest doesn't happen most of the time, I want to hop on a short call to understand why they left (full and honest disclosure), why they're coming back and why this time is different so to speak.