What can we learn from Block?

Software. Marketing. Training. Running your business.
Hello World!

Long time listener, first time caller. I am saddened by the loss of The Taxalmanac web sight, although I only discovered it recently, I have gained a tremendous amount of knowledge from it, and therefore from all of you and I would just like to share my appreciation.

I am a newbie, currently self-studying for the EA exam. I want to start working in this industry next tax season. My ambition is to open a small Tax business and grow it into a full time practice.

Question:
Suppose I choose to go and get tax experience at H&R Block, will I just be doing individual 1040‘s?
Will they allow me to work on any business/corp/partnership taxes?
Also, I am looking to get practical hands-on experience doing bookkeeping and payroll. I know that H&R block offers these services. Can I request to work on those projects at H&R?

Thank all of you

Block gives one a good grounding in basic 1040's. I look back on my time there with some fondness. You may be lucky to get a Schedule C or E in your first season. I did, but then I had fifteen years of tax experience in the UK. Apparently this made me a US tax expert.

I was not aware that Block offered payroll & bookkeeping services. I should imagine the payroll is centralized and probably heavily automated. Payroll is very time-sensitive, so I could easily see that the payroll employees do nothing else. I may be wrong, of course. Bookkeeping may well be done only at the "premium" offices.

As I see it, you have two options. You could either try to get employment with a CPA or EA firm for next season or you could spend a season at Block working for low wages and getting good experience, which will make you more marketable to a CPA/EA firm in the following season. That's how it worked for me.