changing a single member LLC to S corp in NJ

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
i am new to the field here and sarting to go on my own. What is the step by step process for a client to change from a single member LLC to an S Corp. Thank you for your help

The client could fill out a Form 2553, sign it (twice, I think), and mail it to the IRS. There's a longer and more complicated way to do it, but I'm too lazy to explain it...

HowardS  
For NJ:

A corporation electing to register as a New Jersey S Corporation must complete and file a New Jersey S Corporation Election, Form CBT-2553. The filing due date for Form CBT-2553 is one month later than the time to file a Federal election.

For the election to be valid, every shareholder of the corporation must consent to the election and other requirements of the State. The corporation will be notified within 30 days after filing Form CBT-2553 whether or not the election is accepted.

Once an election is made and accepted, a corporation remains a New Jersey S corporation as long as it is a Federal S corporation. To revoke an election, a letter of revocation must be filed. The letter must be signed by all shareholders holding more than 50% of the outstanding shares of stock on the day of the revocation and a copy of the original election form must be enclosed. The filing deadline for a letter of revocation is on or before the last day of the first tax year of the election.

For more information on S Corporations, see the publication S Corporation Questions and Answers.
Retired, no salvage value.

Thanks for covering for my laziness, Howard.

Do we think that an SMLLC electing to be treated as an association (and electing S corporation status) for federal tax purposes will come under the same rules as a "real" corporation in NJ?