Valuation

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
Had a client pass recently and may go over the exemption amount. The largest assets in estate are couple of partnership interests and stock in a non-publicly traded corporation. The attorney started the process on gathering appraisals for the partnerships and corporation. Both basically contain rental properties; so, the attorney is obtaining appraisals for each property in the entities vs. getting an appraisal of the entity. Since I'm new to estate tax, I'm wondering if this is the correct approach?

Seems like the attorney is going to combine the value of all the properties in each entity. Then after applying a lack of marketability and/or minority interest interest discount, he'll report the client's value based on ownership percentage of each entity.

Unless the attorney has a valuation credential, I wouldn't have him do anything other than add up the values provided by such a professional. The valuation professional should be engaged to provide a report taking all these dynamics into account.
~Captcook

If the various entities consist mainly of real estate, then I think the logical first step is to obtain the values of the real estate inside the partnership and corporation. The lawyers may want to control the process by using an appraiser that they are familiar with it. When they mention to the appraiser "we have a taxable estate" that is code for make sure you come in on the low end.

From there, they will probably provide a certified valuation pro with the info to draft the reports

I see nothing wrong with the approach, that is the way it normally plays out.

Just as an example, there was a recent successful case that used the cash flow method of valuing a parcel of real estate that brought down the initial value to less than half of what an appraisal for sale would likely have provided.
Just my $0.02...
~Captcook

MWPXYZ