Help Determining Reasonable Comp

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
Hello!

I need help figuring out how to determine reasonable compensation and would like to know how you guys determine this. I only recommend the S Corp route to my clients who it will really make sense to, not just at a certain income level.

The hardest thing I face (and most I would assume) is determining reasonable compensation. I have a subscription to RC Reports, but I want some of the community's take on this. RC reports and bureau of labor statistics in this area say a psychologist makes on average 80K, but net income is going to be closer to 200K, which would leave a 40/60 split of wages vs income, which seems low to me. I also feel that maxing wages out 140 really defeats the purpose of the S Corp route.

Any suggestions/input is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

This is a tricky one, as I doubt this S corp has anyone other than the owner actively generating income.
The theory behind RC Reports, I believe based on the sales pitch, is that the report can be used in audit defense.

I don't have RC reports, but I typically go over the 3 questions with clients.
If you hired someone to do your job, how much would you have to pay them per hour?
If someone were to hire you away from running your own business, how much would they have to pay you?
How many hours a week do you work?

The reasonable comp for business owners, on an hourly rate, is typically somewhere between the first and second question, multipled by the number of hours.

In your example, a CPA might be quoted to make $80k on average (first result on google actually), but most of us know those in an equity position would not work for that little.

Actually I would be curious to know what RC Reports says in an average salary for a CPA.

JR1