Senile client and what you would do.

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
RightOn  
I have a client for whom I have been providing tax service for about 20 years. She is almost 90 years old now. And I can see her mental ability is deteriorating. I really think she needs help to gather the tax information to provide to me and that she needs someone she can trust to help to review the tax return for her or together with her as I always want my clients to thoroughly review a tax return before they sign it.

The problem is that she is a single woman with no relatives that I know of. I am honestly getting uncomfortable to continue to provide service to her wondering whether she has the ability to review the tax return or not.

But what shall I do under the situation? Should I just tell her I cannot continue to provide service to her? I'd feel very sorry if I have to say that to her. Just imagine you are 90 years old and you have to look for a new tax preparer because the one who has been helping you for the last 20 years suddenly says to you that he cannot provide service to you anymore.

So, what would you do?

Gather whatever evidence you can and prepare the return.
Steve

sjrcpa  
Get a 2848 so you can access IRS transcripts.
If she's really incompetent with no help, perhaps a call to Senior Services as a concerned citizen in order.

Nilodop  
If she's really incompetent with no help, perhaps a call to Senior Services as a concerned citizen in order.. Do you mean an anonymous concerned citizen, or as a preparer?

Sec 7216 prohibits disclosure by a preparer of
any information furnished to him for, or in connection with, the preparation of any such return
Tax return information includes " any information, including but not limited to a taxpayer's name, address, or identifying number". Sec. 301.7216-1(b)(3), Proced. & Admin. Regs. Section 7216 prohibits such a disclosure, and violation of the section could result in a 1-year jail sentence and/or a $1,000 fine.