NY coop apartment - mortg int per coop unit deductible?

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
mariaku  
I have never worked with a NY coop before. New client, and it is their 2nd home.

They have an acquisition-debt mortgage on this apartment, and the coop also reports to them the per-unit amount of mortgage interest & property taxes.

They own x units. I see that their previous preparer took those per-unit amounts * x number of units, to determine this 2nd mortgage interest & their property taxes amount. The client states that all mortgage interest, on both their own & the coop's loans) is acquisition as they never cashed out.

Given that I've never seen this per-unit coop reporting system before, I'd like to double-check:

Is it reasonable to deduct (w/i limits) mortgage interest from their 1st mortgage AND from the coop pro-rata share mortgage reported to them?

Thank you for helping me out with your advice.

sjrcpa  
Yes

Nilodop  
Yes and section 216.

mariaku  
How could I verify that the mortgage interest allocated per unit of coop is indeed acquisition debt? It increased last year, and the client has no idea why, and the coop would not give us a coherent answer. Or should we just rely on their reporting, knowing that client never cashed out?

Thank you

mariaku wrote:How could I verify that the mortgage interest allocated per unit of coop is indeed acquisition debt? It increased last year, and the client has no idea why, and the coop would not give us a coherent answer. Or should we just rely on their reporting, knowing that client never cashed out?

Thank you

I believe you are over thinking it. Coop owners will have 2 1098s. One from the coop and one that is their bank.

The coop 1098 is deductible and I have never seen a cash out at the coop level. Normally they have cash flow issues.

Deduct them both and move on is my advice.

Nilodop