Really? Another S Corp "No Payroll" thread?

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
Despite my threats of consequences and disengagement, the client has been ineffective at communicating his net profit to me in a timely manner and we have not run any payroll this year.

I suspect he has profits and distributions.

I just don't want to fire this client.

My problem is, I have always quickly fired or refused these clients in the past, and I have no experience with resolution in these cases.

I am certainly not willing to prepare his 1120s with $150,000 of net profit (and distributions) and no payroll (this subject has already been beaten to death by our group - I'm not doing it).

If I finally get a 2022 P&L from him in June of 2023, for example, can I just run an appropriately-sized late December 2022 payroll and let the late penalty letters come in for him to pay for his non-compliance? Is this a reasonable solution?

ItDepends wrote:I suspect he has profits and distributions.

Yes, yes he does, which is why he doesn't want to contact you

ItDepends wrote:I just don't want to fire this client.

Sounds like you should, but you're being merciful.

ItDepends wrote:I am certainly not willing to prepare his 1120s with $150,000 of net profit (and distributions) and no payroll (this subject has already been beaten to death by our group - I'm not doing it).

Nor should you subject yourself to the penalties for filing an S Corp return without reasonable compensation

ItDepends wrote:If I finally get a 2022 P&L from him in June of 2023, for example, can I just run an appropriately-sized late December 2022 payroll and let the late penalty letters come in for him to pay for his non-compliance? Is this a reasonable solution?

How are you going to run payroll after the fact? If no 941's are filed, then how would you file an amended return? The penalties for late tax deposits are pretty high relatively speaking.

I think you'd be better off sending this guy away....

JR1