179 Recapture, Are drones Listed Property?

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
LexiCPA  
Taxpayer purchased drones for use in his schedule C business over the past 3 years. Wondering if drones are considered listed property. Took Sec. 179 on drones each year. In 2022 he is not longer self-employed, working as an employee on W-2. Since business use has dropped to less than 50% (I assume he cannot consider use as an employee as business use) seems he would need to recapture the excess Sec.179. Questions, is it over MACRs or straight-line (listed property), and I would assume it's subject to SE tax and eligible for QBI. Thoughts/comments? Thanks.

I suppose you're considering the drones to be "Property generally used for entertainment, recreation, or amusement (including photographic, phonographic, communication, and video recording equipment)" and therefore listed property. I don't necessarily agree, but I'm not really an expert on drones.

Are the drones being used in his W-2 job? If so, I don't see why that would make it non-business use. For example, employers can still reimburse employees for the business (i.e., employment-related) use of their car and stuff.

The method of depreciation used in figuring the recapture amount (and future potential depreciation deductions) depends on whether it's listed property or not.

If you do end up with a taxable recapture amount (which I doubt, personally), it would go on Sch. C line 6 in the year it dropped to 50% or less business use (if indeed it did). That makes it subject to SE tax and eligible for QBI.

LexiCPA  
Thanks for your input. If I can establish using it as an employee, which he does, constitutes business use I would agree with you and is the better conclusion for sure.

Nilodop  
I'd like to focus specifically on whether 179 recapture applies, as fascinating as the rest is (like whether a drone is "generally" used the way beardenjv says above.) Didn't Amazon use them for deliveries?