Best entity choice for flipping properties

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
My research has determined this would be an S corporation - does anyone disagree?

Joan TB  
Would love to know what others think of this. Have a new client coming in next week who is a Real Estate Agent by trade. Wants to set-up an LLC with an investor (who happened to be a C-Corp) to flip houses. Wanted to know if the LLC could be an S-corp. (Said no.) I'll get more details from him next week as to other factors at play.

Scogden  
I'd be curious to see what some of the others recommend. Generally around these parts it is not recommended that property be held in an S or C due to complications of appreciation should the property need to be removed from the business without an actual sale. If you are flipping them, S treatment would certainly be more favorable tax-wise. Just be sure the parties are aware that if they end up with some property that doesn't sell but has appreciated in value and they need to dissolve the S Corp or otherwise remove the property from corporate ownership, they'll be taking the hit for the appreciated gain on their taxes when the property gets pulled out. I'd also point out to them this is about flipping properties - if they get the idea to start purchasing real estate either for long-term investment and/or rental purposes, revert back to the issues with holding property in an S and consider a new entity taxed as a partnership for those types of ventures.

I have a client who flips houses and makes a substantial profit. Sole proprietor. Over the past several years, I've urged him to talk to a business attorney about forming an LLC and making an S election so that he could avoid the SE tax hit, control the amount of profit that he could pay himself as compensation, and fund a retirement plan.