Self-employment tax

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
I'm relatively new to tax prep and a CPA, and am slightly embarrassed to say this topic confuses me, but am hoping someone can help. I will use a simple example below.

$100,000 (Net Earnings from Sch. C)
$92,350 (multiply above # by 92.35%)
$14,130 (multiply above # by 15.3% = Self-Employment tax to Form 1040)
$7,065 (multiply above # by 50% = above the line deduction to Form 1040)

Question 1: Why multiply by 92.35%? Is this basically saying that as the employer (of yourself) you are entitled to deduct 7.65% below the line?

Question 2: I am confused on the math. Almost seems like the benefits outweigh the taxes. Am I looking at this right?

+$7,650 benefit (benefit right off the bat from multiplying by only 92.35%)
+7,065 benefit (above the line deduction)
-$14,130 tax
= $585 benefit

David  
Do you understand the difference between deductions and credits? The above the line deduction of $7,065 doesn't save the taxpayer $7,065 in tax because it's not a credit. If the taxpayer was in the 28% marginal bracket that $7,065 might save them $1978 in actual tax. It'll vary depending on ... a lot of stuff.

The $7,650 benefit by only multiplying by 92.35% is only a benefit in the sense it reduces the self-employment tax. It doesn't affect the income tax - they're still including $100k net income in the income for calculating federal income tax. So $7,650 saves them 15.3% of $7,650 in dollars or $1,170.

So you'd potentially have something like $1978 benefit $1,170 benefit $14,130 cost = $10,982 cost. Varying from taxpayer to taxpayer.

aharry  
This may or may not clarify the intent of the calculation:

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-wd/00-0275.pdf

Jake  
I understand the theory - but really - any tax program does the math for you.

It may be helpful to think of self-employment as being both employer and employee, and keep in mind how payroll taxes work.