C-corp to S-corp conversion

Technical topics regarding tax preparation.
Client is a family owned Ccorp with 5 shareholders (H-W & 3kids). They are considering an S-corp conversion to save on taxes and simplify their situation, not to mention save on taxes. I have advised them to stay a Ccorp for at least one more year since they still have a big NOL carryforward from a prior year. RE in the corp are about 750k, officers are taking big salaries which of course zeros out or creates a loss in income every year so any RE is from long time ago, and since this is my first year working with them I can’t even be sure it is accurate (but is reflected on last yrs balance sheet). H-W are looking at retiring in a few years, so the Scorp would give them passive income and tax free distributions in the future. I have advised them to lower the salaries, and for now we will create a loan to shareholder account if they need more $ until we decide what we are going to do(we have another year or two because of the NOL) I have read many of the pros and cons, and I deal with Scorps all the time so I am much more comfortable doing those, and I am sure the Scorp will save them in the long run- but after reading some articles, I am not entirely convinced that the H-W shouldn’t just form a separate Scorp and have the C-corp pay the Scorp a management/consulting fee to extract some of the RE and income. This way they can get the benefits of both, and I am thinking a full on conversion might be more complicated than what it is worth. Is there a problem with doing this? Any thoughts?

corrielee wrote: H-W are looking at retiring in a few years, so the Scorp would give them passive income and tax free distributions in the future.

Might want to rethink that one. There is, for one thing, a 5 out of 10 year rule. But if they have no passive losses, might be a good thing to have non-passive flow-thru income b/c it avoids the NIIT.