Free Trial: TheSiteFactory.com

How is QB 2019 running on your computer?

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
#1
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Has anyone had problems with QB 2019 running well on their computers? I have a client who is having problems with it freezing up on her computer. She has a large data file, that is large because it's old (goes back to about 2006). We condensed the file prior to upgrading as of 2016 which freed up quite a bit of room. Our goal is to continue this data file to the year end and start a new one in January. I just had an e-mail from her though and she is continuing to have problems.
 

#2
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
How was the QB2019 data file initialized? In-place upgrade from prior version (which one?) or import of portable file? Not sure it matters, just wondering.

Does the company file pass complete data verification process? (File -> Utilities -> Verify Data). You should also take a look at "DB File Fragments" value from the "Product Information" dialog screen (use Ctrl-1 key combo to bring it up).

This is just about the time of year when I take my annual ProAdvisor re-cert exam on the new version, and I have a company file of about 180MB which I will probably import from a portable file into QB2019 (from QB2017), so in the next week I may have a better answer for you.
 

#3
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Thanks for the suggestions, Makbo. I'll check with her this morning. Her problem seems to be mostly in payroll although she said QB freezes up the computer at other times as well, just mostly in payroll. So it's a particular concern for us that nothing happen there. She uses mostly direct deposit for paychecks although one or two are written. I wonder if a a work around might be an independent payroll data file for the rest of the year and payroll entered to the main data file manually as a journal entry. That's really time consuming though and a nightmare for a bank rec.
 

#4
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
actionbsns wrote:Her problem seems to be mostly in payroll although she said QB freezes up the computer at other times as well, just mostly in payroll.

What happens then? Does it unfreeze by itself eventually, or does the program/system have to be terminated/restarted? Answer can make a huge difference as to the diagnosis.

If it eventually unfreezes, you have a performance problem. If it never unfreezes, you either have a bug (unlikely in my opinion), or maybe there's a dialog box somewhere in hiding behind another window, waiting for an "OK" mouse click that will never come. (more likely to happen with dual monitors)

I couldn't speculate whether payroll has anything to do with it -- I don't think it requires a real time connection to Intuit, although it is an "extra" app within QB.
 

#5
Posts:
631
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
I have had chronic issues with QBD installs since 2018, either sudden crashes or freezing up. No updates have resolved. 2019 seems a bit better, but still annoying. My largest data file is about 450MB but it occurs with smaller data files that hardly have anything in them.
 

#6
COGS  
Posts:
125
Joined:
10-Oct-2014 3:57pm
Location:
The south
We got it and it was horrific. My secretary spent all day on the phone with Intuit and got the reports we needed from a client file. But we are still using 2016 after that experience as much as possible.

I like clients to print reports in Excel format so I have not had to use the new QuickBooks much. But it was a terrible experience.
 

#7
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
I've been running QB 2019 on a large file (many transactions and journal entries, not so many invoices/bills/inventory items). It's mostly performed the same as 2018 version did.

Beware of QB2016 R17 update release from intuit. Murph has documented that this seems to be an "end of service" patch update from Intuit.

The short answer is, you get 3 years of support from Intuit on QB Desktop versions, after that you are on your own.
 

#8
Posts:
631
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
makbo wrote:The short answer is, you get 3 years of support from Intuit on QB Desktop versions, after that you are on your own.


Yup, and they have even disabled manual imports of .qbo bank feeds. Last I checked, they were still allowing live imports but not manual imports via File-->Utilities.
 

#9
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
I bought QB 2019 and I need to install it on my computer so I can do the payroll for the client I mentioned in my first post. I also have a couple of others who are either on 2019 or will be by the time I get their data. I install from a thumb drive back up. Makbo, do you think there is a reason to do something different? I could upgrade the data file from my computer's 2015 file to 2019, then restore in 2019 using the thumb drive. I'm not sure that would make a difference.

She is bringing me bank and credit card statements so I can do a reconciliation on my computer, she hasn't been able to, or is afraid to do them on her computer, she's afraid she'll lose important information. BTW, sometimes, her computer will "unfreeze" after about an hour, and other times, she needs to just power down and restart the computer. So no consistency with whatever the problem is.
 

#10
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
actionbsns wrote:I bought QB 2019 and I need to install it on my computer so I can do the payroll for the client I mentioned in my first post. I also have a couple of others who are either on 2019 or will be by the time I get their data. I install from a thumb drive back up. Makbo, do you think there is a reason to do something different? I could upgrade the data file from my computer's 2015 file to 2019, then restore in 2019 using the thumb drive. I'm not sure that would make a difference.

I'm not sure what you are asking -- about how to install QB 2019 software on your computer, or how to upgrade a company file under version 2016 to 2019?

Installing the desktop software must be done the Intuit way -- you run an executable file, you must be connected to the internet for license validation, and it gets installed like any other Windows program.

Upgrading a company file can be done several ways - in place (open the company file using the new software), or restoring either a backup or a portable file using the new version. I kind of prefer the portable file as the "cleanest" approach, but in the end any of the methods should work.

There is at any given time exactly one production copy of a company file. You have to arrange with the client so that you aren't trying to do parallel upgrades, one to production and one to a test or backup copy. The production copy should never be overwritten by some other copy, except in an emergency recovery situation.
 

#11
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
My question is whether or not you thought it would make a difference to upgrade the data file from a thumb drive back up as opposed to directly on the computer from old version to new version of QB.

I had another thought today on this issue. My client installed her program directly from the Intuit website. I have a disc because I bought a hard copy of the program. I wonder if there might be a difference with the install. There doesn't seem to be a consistent problem with the program, but a lot of unhappy campers. Right now, I'm a happy camper, in a good mood, :D things are right with the world. BUT I am about to install QB 2019 so in about 15 minutes that could all change. :o :roll: :cry:
 

#12
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
A thumb drive is just another variety of disk, which can be offlined under Windows (as can many other types of disk), so no I don't think it makes a difference as far as QuickBooks is concerned.
 

#13
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Still a happy camper. The install went through without a hitch and I have restored the backup that was given to me yesterday. That was made on her computer where the program is causing fits. I've run a sample payroll, paid some sample payroll taxes, moved data around, made an employee inactive (which the client was having a problem with). So far the program has jumped through all those hoops and not crashed or locked up.
 

#14
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Just came back from my client's office who is having so many problems with V 2019. She uninstalled and re-installed the program to no avail, so I was going to load the program from my own disk thinking that possibly there was something going on with the internet download. But In searching her computer I found several files that were likely causing conflicts, and she seems to be loading the program via a quicklink on the desk top, which I deleted. I tried several procedures that were causing her to lock up the program, added, then deleted a couple test employees and vendors, prepared a sample payroll then deleted it, finally did a bank reconciliation, it never locked up. So I'm hoping the problem is solved for her.
 

#15
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
RATS!!! I hope this doesn't feel like beating a dead horse, but the problem continues. I had a call yesterday from the client, she was video-ing what she was doing so I could see what was happening. She opened her data file which worked fine, but when she gets into Employees, and starts trying to clean up her list by making some of them inactive, the computer locked up. I watched what she was doing, and I can't see that she is doing anything wrong. Sometimes it will allow her to click on a couple of names before it locks up, but then it does. I did a Google search and there are a couple of tools she can use, I emailed that information to her. One suggestion was that there could be a bad sector on her hard drive. It just seems so incredibly weird that I can do everything on my computer that she needs to do with no problem. It has to be related to her computer I think. The plan now is for her to call tech support on Monday morning. Since the issue now seems to be connected to the Employee/Payroll part of the program, I'm hoping they will have a solution. She has a clean install now, too. She deleted the program and reinstalled, she has checked for background windows being open. QB is the only program on this computer, other than the operating system and such. They bought this computer just to run QB.
 

#16
Joan TB  
Posts:
1146
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 9:08am
Location:
Texas
does your client's computer meet or exceed the system requirements for the 2019 version of QB that they are running?
 

#17
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Aloha Joan, yes the computer is up to snuff as far as its requirements.
 

#18
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
actionbsns wrote:Has anyone had problems with QB 2019 running well on their computers? I have a client who is having problems with it freezing up on her computer.

actionbsns wrote:She opened her data file which worked fine, but when she gets into Employees, and starts trying to clean up her list by making some of them inactive, the computer locked up. [...] It has to be related to her computer I think. The plan now is for her to call tech support on Monday morning.

Your conclusion that it has to be related to her computer is sound, since it obviously is not a global problem for all QB users.

I think I asked this before, but there are a few basic questions I still don't think you've answered. Is it just the QB program that "locks up" (becomes unresponsive), or the entire Windows system? Does it ever unfreeze on its own eventually? Does she have to manually power down and restart her computer as the only way to recover?

[edit] I see you did actually partially answer this previously: "sometimes, her computer will "unfreeze" after about an hour,". That is odd -- see paragraph below about Task Manager. Maybe some background task, such as a Windows update or a virus/rootkit scan is happening.

Can she perform a full backup with verification? This should address any "bad block" problems.

You might want to consider using the Windows Task Manager (right click on the Start menu button) to see if Windows recognizes the QB process as "not responding". Also, if running QB full screen, I highly recommend (again) making the window smaller and moving it over to one side, so you can see if some other dialog has popped up waiting for a response (which, if hidden, can make it look like the computer is frozen when in fact it is just waiting for a response).
 

#19
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
The lock out is to the whole computer, nothing can take place. QB is the only ancillary program on this computer. Sometimes, if she waits long enough the computer will "unfreeze", sometimes she just has to shut down and reboot. We were using Task Manager on Saturday, the program is unresponsive. She has a good sized screen so usually does not utilize the full screen mode since what comes up is large enough to work in, we checked to be sure there were no other screens or windows open in back of the QB screen and there weren't. This only seems to be happening in the payroll part of QB. I can't see any logical reason for that, if there is something wrong with the computer, wouldn't you think any part of QB could have the same result? I'll hear from her later today after she's called tech support, if they can't seem to help or she's concerned about what they want to do I'll go down to their office and we'll call them together. I'd like to be part of the conversation. BTW, this happens so often that I don't think it's related to a Windows update, unless it's stuck there for some reason.
 

#20
Posts:
631
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
Sounds to me like her operating system has some corruption, likely within the registry. It happens more easily than people realize, but then they in turn place blame on things that have nothing to do with the root cause. Every single software installation and uninstallation, among other things, modifies the registry. So do updates. Each time the registry is modified, it is at risk of being corrupted.

Generally, if the registry is corrupted, the only solution is a fresh install of the OS and then reinstall everything and restore backups. At least, that is also the most cost effective solution.

Same time, it could be hardware such as a RAM stick, SATA controller/driver, etc. Believe it or not, a single bad RAM stick can cause system freezes of that nature. You can run a scan on memory to see if anything is detected (it basically stress tests the RAM), but not something the average person can interpret.

I experience continuous crashes or freezing of QBD, mostly 2018 and 2019, though it has been occurring more with 2019. Nothing wrong can be found with the data files or installations, everything else runs perfectly on my PCs and other computers where I have experienced routine issues with QBD crashing.
 

#21
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
CornerstoneCPA wrote:I experience continuous crashes or freezing of QBD, mostly 2018 and 2019, though it has been occurring more with 2019. Nothing wrong can be found with the data files or installations, everything else runs perfectly on my PCs and other computers where I have experienced routine issues with QBD crashing.

Well, anecdotes are anecdotes. My story is the opposite: I have been using QBD since version 2007 as I recall, and I don't think I've experienced more than maybe two or three crashes in all that time, on dozens of different company files and at least 3 or 4 different computers. And those crashes were anomalies, they never happened again with the same file.

More importantly, if there were system-wide bugs with Quickbooks version 2019, I read enough different news items and blogs on QB that I'm sure I would have seen someone write about it before now.

It does seem pretty clear that something in the user's environment, either Windows config, hardware, or maybe even a network issue (especially since you say doing payroll triggers the freeze) is causing the problem, not a bug in the QBD software itself.
 

#22
Posts:
631
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
We'll have agree to disagree--you can view them as anecdotes to disregard, they are real issues whether you want to admit it or not. I have been using QBD for a very long time, all versions including Enterprise, with a strong background in IT, and while I have had more issues with 2018-2019 than prior "year" releases, it has consistently become less stable, in nearly all environments I work with (including clients and former employers), beginning around 2013 releases. Intuit does not care, they have such an insanely large share of the market they are not concerned about instability because they know there is not a viable alternative at this point.

QBD will eventually be killed off in favor of the shitty QBO environment, so that makes them care even less. Hopefully I'll be retired or pursuing other interests when that occurs.

You remind me of Apple fanboys, and Apple, that refused to acknowledge when 2011 release laptops had severe WiFi connectivity issues, yet there were 400+ page threads on Apple's own forums discussing the issue. I found numerous threads of 2019 QBD users experiencing crashes in a quick Google search.
 

#23
makbo  
Posts:
6519
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
In The Counting House
Ugh - not a fan of Apple, ever (I know, that's not exactly what you said, but just need to be clear). I'm not really that big a "fan" of Intuit, but in all the decades I've been using their products (TurboTax, ProSeries, and Quickbooks), they've worked well for me.

Among all the other links you found , surely you also found this from the official Intuit support site:

Solutions for when QuickBooks stops working

So while I won't dispute that QB may have problems for some users, I also think it's only fair to at least go through the officially supported troubleshooting steps before casting stones. There are many detailed logs that should be examined, for starters.

To prove that something is a bug in QB, you have to be able to state how to reproduce the error. All I'm saying is, I don't see any proof this freezing is due to a bug in QB. Maybe it is; maybe not -- it's undetermined as of now. As actionbns wrote, " It just seems so incredibly weird that I can do everything on my computer that she needs to do with no problem. It has to be related to her computer I think."
 

#24
dsocpa  
Posts:
385
Joined:
5-May-2014 11:15am
Location:
Maryland
I have used QB since. 1999. I’ve been a certified Pro Advisor for just about the same length of time. This year I’ve had more issues than I can remember in a very long time. Recently with desktop I had a client whose 2018 file randomly wouldn’t export reports to excel. I went to Intuit’s accountant community site and discovered other’s were having the same issue. Got some suggestions one of which were uninstall reinstall Windows. I was not willing to do that on the clients machine. Contacted Intuit and we attempted the uninstall reinstall of just the QB file with no luck - tech said Windows was the problem. There had just been a Windows update so I don’t doubt that was part of the issue. However, I could install a back-up of their file and the excel export worked fine and I had just installed the Windows update on my machine. The client contacted their tech guy. He said he had another client with the same issue and spent 3 hours trying to resolve with Intuit - no luck - was told he his client needed to switch to QBO. Meanwhile, I discovered QB Desktop was known for having issues with Office 365. Again, I was not touching their Windows program. I kept reading that Intuit does read the program suggestions so I kept emailing about the issue and posting on the community. For 3 months I just used the client’s back-up file on my machine for excel exports. Then randomly the program started working again with excel!
I tell my clients QB, especially pro and lower-end QBO users the programs were never meant to be top of the line accounting software but an affordable solution for small businesses and professionals. The software has bugs. Its written by IT professionals for the most part and they don’t always understand accounting. Many clients still think the program is a replacement for a qualified accountant and bookkeeper and, apparently IT support. Intuit currently has a 95% market-share in the low-end accounting software space. 99% of my clients have purchased the software before coming to me so getting them to try another software package has been impossible. For some it’s just not a good fit. The DIY clients think any idiot can use the program and seem to have ego issues when it comes to engaging an accountant to at least review the file throughout the year. They don’t get that this increases the chance of incorrect reports, errors on tax returns And increases the expense of tax prep. I think as a profession we need to start educating clients that insist on using the program without at least some oversight and at least recommend a professional complete the set-up. Intuit needs to start stating professional set-up and oversight is recomended when selling the product - chances of that happening are practically 0.
 

#25
Posts:
1221
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Back to the issue at hand, the client was able to work with tech support to get the program functional. I'm hoping it is the solution. She tells me that they had her save the .iif file to her desktop, then they did a re-install. Now it works. It seems odd to me because .iif files are lists so I'm not sure why saving that and re-installing would solve her issues. She needs to do a payroll in the next few days, so she will be going back to the program. If all is right with the world, the "fix" will stay "fixed". A part of me isn't so sure. When you go to the fixes offered by Intuit, one of the suggestions is to rename the .ini file, but there's no mention of the .IIF files, soooooo.

BTW, dsocpa, I agree, it's incredibly annoying and insulting that Intuit markets QB as a solution to preclude the need for an accounting professional and they actually tell people on the box with the program that no accounting knowledge is needed for the buyer to run the financial end of their business with the software. That's a common complaint between the accounting/tax world and Intuit - they want us in their back pocket, but constantly denigrate our existence. If there were another program out there that was as easily available, I'd suggest all of my clients switch to it, but there's not.
 

#26
dsocpa  
Posts:
385
Joined:
5-May-2014 11:15am
Location:
Maryland
It is a sad state of affairs actionbsns. I’m afraid as accountants we often don’t toot our own horn and speak up.
I did mean to mention a very long time ago a client of mine was having issues with QB and we had to do a fresh install. The tech rep told me then to put the company file on the desktop to restore. Not sure why but I don’t profess to be a techie.
 


Return to General Accounting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest