Free Trial: TheSiteFactory.com

How is QB 2019 running on your computer?

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
#1
Posts:
1170
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Has anyone had problems with QB 2019 running well on their computers? I have a client who is having problems with it freezing up on her computer. She has a large data file, that is large because it's old (goes back to about 2006). We condensed the file prior to upgrading as of 2016 which freed up quite a bit of room. Our goal is to continue this data file to the year end and start a new one in January. I just had an e-mail from her though and she is continuing to have problems.
 

#2
makbo  
Posts:
6236
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
District 13
How was the QB2019 data file initialized? In-place upgrade from prior version (which one?) or import of portable file? Not sure it matters, just wondering.

Does the company file pass complete data verification process? (File -> Utilities -> Verify Data). You should also take a look at "DB File Fragments" value from the "Product Information" dialog screen (use Ctrl-1 key combo to bring it up).

This is just about the time of year when I take my annual ProAdvisor re-cert exam on the new version, and I have a company file of about 180MB which I will probably import from a portable file into QB2019 (from QB2017), so in the next week I may have a better answer for you.
 

#3
Posts:
1170
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
Thanks for the suggestions, Makbo. I'll check with her this morning. Her problem seems to be mostly in payroll although she said QB freezes up the computer at other times as well, just mostly in payroll. So it's a particular concern for us that nothing happen there. She uses mostly direct deposit for paychecks although one or two are written. I wonder if a a work around might be an independent payroll data file for the rest of the year and payroll entered to the main data file manually as a journal entry. That's really time consuming though and a nightmare for a bank rec.
 

#4
makbo  
Posts:
6236
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
District 13
actionbsns wrote:Her problem seems to be mostly in payroll although she said QB freezes up the computer at other times as well, just mostly in payroll.

What happens then? Does it unfreeze by itself eventually, or does the program/system have to be terminated/restarted? Answer can make a huge difference as to the diagnosis.

If it eventually unfreezes, you have a performance problem. If it never unfreezes, you either have a bug (unlikely in my opinion), or maybe there's a dialog box somewhere in hiding behind another window, waiting for an "OK" mouse click that will never come. (more likely to happen with dual monitors)

I couldn't speculate whether payroll has anything to do with it -- I don't think it requires a real time connection to Intuit, although it is an "extra" app within QB.
 

#5
Posts:
553
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
I have had chronic issues with QBD installs since 2018, either sudden crashes or freezing up. No updates have resolved. 2019 seems a bit better, but still annoying. My largest data file is about 450MB but it occurs with smaller data files that hardly have anything in them.
 

#6
COGS  
Posts:
121
Joined:
10-Oct-2014 3:57pm
Location:
The south
We got it and it was horrific. My secretary spent all day on the phone with Intuit and got the reports we needed from a client file. But we are still using 2016 after that experience as much as possible.

I like clients to print reports in Excel format so I have not had to use the new QuickBooks much. But it was a terrible experience.
 

#7
makbo  
Posts:
6236
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
District 13
I've been running QB 2019 on a large file (many transactions and journal entries, not so many invoices/bills/inventory items). It's mostly performed the same as 2018 version did.

Beware of QB2016 R17 update release from intuit. Murph has documented that this seems to be an "end of service" patch update from Intuit.

The short answer is, you get 3 years of support from Intuit on QB Desktop versions, after that you are on your own.
 

#8
Posts:
553
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
Hilton Head Island, SC
makbo wrote:The short answer is, you get 3 years of support from Intuit on QB Desktop versions, after that you are on your own.


Yup, and they have even disabled manual imports of .qbo bank feeds. Last I checked, they were still allowing live imports but not manual imports via File-->Utilities.
 

#9
Posts:
1170
Joined:
21-Apr-2014 12:31pm
Location:
HAWAII
I bought QB 2019 and I need to install it on my computer so I can do the payroll for the client I mentioned in my first post. I also have a couple of others who are either on 2019 or will be by the time I get their data. I install from a thumb drive back up. Makbo, do you think there is a reason to do something different? I could upgrade the data file from my computer's 2015 file to 2019, then restore in 2019 using the thumb drive. I'm not sure that would make a difference.

She is bringing me bank and credit card statements so I can do a reconciliation on my computer, she hasn't been able to, or is afraid to do them on her computer, she's afraid she'll lose important information. BTW, sometimes, her computer will "unfreeze" after about an hour, and other times, she needs to just power down and restart the computer. So no consistency with whatever the problem is.
 

#10
makbo  
Posts:
6236
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 3:44pm
Location:
District 13
actionbsns wrote:I bought QB 2019 and I need to install it on my computer so I can do the payroll for the client I mentioned in my first post. I also have a couple of others who are either on 2019 or will be by the time I get their data. I install from a thumb drive back up. Makbo, do you think there is a reason to do something different? I could upgrade the data file from my computer's 2015 file to 2019, then restore in 2019 using the thumb drive. I'm not sure that would make a difference.

I'm not sure what you are asking -- about how to install QB 2019 software on your computer, or how to upgrade a company file under version 2016 to 2019?

Installing the desktop software must be done the Intuit way -- you run an executable file, you must be connected to the internet for license validation, and it gets installed like any other Windows program.

Upgrading a company file can be done several ways - in place (open the company file using the new software), or restoring either a backup or a portable file using the new version. I kind of prefer the portable file as the "cleanest" approach, but in the end any of the methods should work.

There is at any given time exactly one production copy of a company file. You have to arrange with the client so that you aren't trying to do parallel upgrades, one to production and one to a test or backup copy. The production copy should never be overwritten by some other copy, except in an emergency recovery situation.
 


Return to General Accounting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests