CPA License Experience Question

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
mlntax  
Hi All,

I'm looking for a state that will accept my 9 year old work experience to qualify for a CPA license.

I have been an accountant for 19 years but recently passed the CPA exam in Georgia. The experience requirement has changed and now require recent experience that was earn within 1 year of applying for your license. I worked in industry accounting for 10 years, under various CPAs. For the last 9 years I have worked as a self-employed accountant. All my educational and exam requirements have been met but I'm looking for a state that accepts "old" experience. Any knowledge is greatly appreciated.

I've spent weeks reading the fine print for each state and have not come across the exact verbiage.

If not, I may have to sell my business and become an employee. :shock:

Thanks in advance.

JAD  
I am sorry. Ridiculous barriers to entry. I don't have an answer for you, but I hope this works out for you.

novacpa  
I think you have to establish "residency" in a State before applying for a CPA License.
Your 2nd issue is then - transferring from that State into Georgia.
I recall Colorado was a easier State to qualify, as well as Mississippi.
Good luck and let us know how you are doing.

makbo  
mlntax wrote: For the last 9 years I have worked as a self-employed accountant. [...] If not, I may have to sell my business and become an employee.

Why? What has changed after nine years?

dsocpa  
There is a firm. Mobility law that has currently passed in several states. It likely will in MD soon.