Career Path and Compensation

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
Hi everyone,

I am very new to the tax accounting profession. I've completed my BA, CPA exams, and now starting my first full time position. I’m starting at 51K (with payed overtime). The firms revenue is 190 million to give you an idea of the company’s size. I am writing because I need guidance on how to build my career.

I've read that i should expect:
1 year experience 50K to 60K
5 years experience 70K to 80K

My question is, should i expect to get raises of at least 4K a year for five years to reach the minimum 70K mark? I'm trying to gain understanding on how to make the most of my time and career. The geographic location is in Southern California.

Thank you all in advance and if you need clarification on my question, please ask :)

I don't think it's going to be positive to examine your career progression through the prism of your compensation.

Sometimes we're underpaid, sometimes we're overpaid. Sometimes both in the same week, without even switching employers!

My advice...go to work with a "go-getter" attitude and sponge up everything you can the first 2-3 years. Continually show people you work with that you're ready for more. You already have one major milestone behind you (your CPA exams), so you can focus 100% on the job.

When you're offered a promotion, you can do research to see what's competitive in your market for the position and negotiate the promotion compensation by illustrating what you've been bringing to the table, and what you hope to do in the future for the firm.

If you find the first firm isn't for you, you can interview around and usually get a raise by changing firms.

Best of luck.