SSARS #21 and peer review

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
I am a CPA on NYS and I am not a member of the AICPA. NYS does not require a peer review for compilations however SSARS # 21 does. Does this requirement under SSARS # 21 only apply to AICPA members? Or does the fact that I am issuing a report performed under the SSARS require me to have a peer review? I'm confused

Doug M  
Hi Theresa. I would call the AICPA. I have not been in Peer Review for about 3 years now, so am not sure what the rules are. It seems to me that the four sections of SSARS #21 might have a different Peer Review requirement depending if it is a Section 60/70/80 or 90 engagement. Section 80 or 90, yes. Section 70, no?

Hi Theresa,

From the AICPA Peer Review Program Q&A Update #14, January, 2015:

Does my firm have to enroll in a peer review program if the only engagements it performs are compiled financial statements that are not expected to be used by a third party (management use only)?

Under the AICPA bylaws, firms (or individuals in certain situations) are only required to
enroll in an Institute approved practice monitoring program when the engagements they perform are within the scope of the AICPA’s practice monitoring standards and issue reportspurporting to be in accordance with AICPA professional standards. Therefore, in the case where the compilations for management’s use only are the highest level of service performed by the firm, they would not be required to enroll in the AICPA Peer Review Program because no report is issued. AR sec.80 requires the accountant to document the understanding of the engagement with the entity through the use of an engagement letter.

However, firms must check with their Board of Accountancy peer review requirements as some require firms to enroll and have a peer review in this circumstance.

For firms already enrolled in the AICPA Peer Review Program, compilations for management use only
would fall within the scope of peer review.