Free Trial: TheSiteFactory.com

consolidated F/S in QBO?

Any non-Tax accounting topics go here.
#1
juro  
Posts:
501
Joined:
18-Oct-2015 9:11am
Location:
USA
My client's bank needs a single consolidated F/S for all of his ten entities.
These are all set up as separate entities in his QBO system.

possible?
 

#2
Posts:
1587
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
A Foot Shaped Island
I do not see anything like that even in the highest level of QBO. There are likely plug-ins that can accommodate this need but haven't used any to recommend.
 

#3
sjrcpa  
Posts:
3406
Joined:
23-Apr-2014 5:27pm
Location:
Maryland
The last time I had to do something like that (MMLLC owning about 15 SMLLCs), I did the consolidation in Excel.
 

#4
juro  
Posts:
501
Joined:
18-Oct-2015 9:11am
Location:
USA
the bank asks for so many things from me.
the spreadsheet i do every month is a killer.
the ten entities pay each other and borrow off each other, have to track all that.
 

#5
Posts:
1587
Joined:
21-May-2018 7:50am
Location:
A Foot Shaped Island
Quickbooks Desktop Enterprise has this ability but not aware of it in any other version of QB. I have to say I have not been impressed when I did it, and felt I could do it more efficiently in Excel. Create formulas for critical tests and rules that brightly highlight potential errors.

Or look into QBO plug-ins for this purpose. I am still skeptical of their ability to handle it WELL--seems there is not much in the way of software that promises more than it actually delivers.
 

#6
Posts:
1141
Joined:
28-Jul-2017 12:08pm
Location:
North Country, USA
Many large companies (200m balance sheets) consolidate using Excel...
 

#7
juro  
Posts:
501
Joined:
18-Oct-2015 9:11am
Location:
USA
thanks, i feel better now. :D
 

#8
Posts:
139
Joined:
10-Apr-2019 4:35pm
Location:
ID
I feel like you can do this using the class system. I've done it before, but it in the desktop version. Does QBO not have classes?

https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-sup ... /00/185609
 

#9
juro  
Posts:
501
Joined:
18-Oct-2015 9:11am
Location:
USA
ok, but the class system is over my head.
The problem is i have ten entities that are set up as separate entities in the QBO system.
Classes work only within one entity, i guess?
 

#10
eze  
Posts:
223
Joined:
8-May-2014 7:02pm
Location:
Grey Area, California
IDunnoItDepends wrote:I feel like you can do this using the class system. I've done it before, but it in the desktop version. Does QBO not have classes?

https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-sup ... /00/185609



I think they have classes now, I was just reading about it.

Regarding consolidations....yeah, Excel. The trick is to have a good organized chart of accounts in QBO across all entities, export consistently all trial balances including zero balances so your COA rows come out consistent, make interco eliminations in a separate column.
 

#11
cp_acwt  
Posts:
73
Joined:
22-May-2014 1:59pm
Location:
MichigaN
With Transaction Pro Exporter you could export the QB data for each company to Excel.

https://www.transactionpro.com/
 


Return to General Accounting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests